Making and Modifying RLVs

Tacx Training Software

Moderators: nzuraw, mcorn

eri
Balance Bike
Balance Bike
USER_FLAG: United States of America

Hi Folks,

I'm completely new to the virtual ride community. Seems like this is the best forum on the web for this stuff. Sorry if its not wanted here. If so can anyone point me to a better place to discuss this stuff?

I use golden cheetah to 'ride' rlvs. I'm a fan of free and open source. I recently was given a few old tacx dvds and thought I'd give them a go.

The tacx rlv only have a distance/slope map and a distance/frame map, which isn't so satisfying for me.

I created a gpx for a ride by consolidating strava rides which means I can now see my route when I'm done, as if I'd ridden it with strava. I also added a kinetic energy model to golden cheetah so the climbs are now properly difficult.

What is bothering me now is that the tacx video has gaps and the 'tacx distance' doesn't map to reality which cause the videos to fall out of sync.

What I need is something to create rlvs.

I've seen references to "RLV Studio" and "RLV Workbench" but the sites seem to be gone now.

I played with some route editor from cyclops for a whole day but it was hugely frustrating.

Finally I just wrote a small command line program to rewrite existing rlvs distance/video mapping. I give it a set of points that I consider facts: <distance, video time> and it interpolates all the points in the rlv so my facts become true. The benefit of this over a simple linear interpolate is that it retains the relative speed of the recording vehicle between the fact points.

For the tacx gavia ride I was able to bring it into sync with 21 points. I don't know that it needed 21 but I put a mark at all the places where I'd care if it was out of sync. Nothing bursts your bubble like seeing a steep climb but the trainer thinks youre descending.